A GLP-1 weight-loss program may be advertised at $39, $79, $179 or more than $1,000 per month—and each of those figures could describe a different part of treatment.
One price may cover only access to a telehealth platform. Another may include a compounded medication but not laboratory testing. A third may represent a temporary starting dose of an FDA-approved drug. Insurance can reduce the medication cost while leaving the clinic’s membership fee untouched.
The result is that two programs appearing hundreds of dollars apart may be closer in price once every charge is counted. Conversely, a low introductory offer can become substantially more expensive after the first month or after the medication dose changes.
This guide explains how to calculate the likely total, compare common online-clinic pricing models and identify costs that are easily overlooked.
CliniqGuide does not provide medical care or prescribe medication. Eligibility for prescription treatment depends on an evaluation by an appropriately licensed healthcare professional. Prices and program terms were reviewed on July 29, 2026 and may change.
Key takeaways
- The advertised clinic price may cover medical support only, with medication billed separately.
- Introductory offers can obscure the regular monthly cost. Compare at least the first month, a typical ongoing month and the amount due upfront.
- Insurance may cover an FDA-approved medication without paying for the telehealth membership, coaching or administrative program.
- Higher doses do not always cost more, but dose-based pricing is common in manufacturer cash-pay programs and some compounded-medication plans.
- Labs, needles, syringes, shipping and nonrefundable prescription orders can change the real cost.
- Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide are not FDA-approved or equivalent to FDA-approved generics. Their availability is also affected by current compounding rules and patient-specific clinical need.
The most useful number is the all-in monthly cost
A practical GLP-1 cost comparison should consider:
- Program or membership fee
- medication
- consultations not included
- laboratory testing
- shipping and injection supplies
- insurance deductible, copay or coinsurance
= estimated all-in cost
Some of these charges may be zero. What matters is establishing that before enrollment rather than assuming the headline price covers everything.
It is also useful to calculate three separate totals:
- First-month cost: including introductory discounts and initial consultations.
- Typical ongoing cost: after promotions expire.
- Higher-dose or maintenance cost: if the medication price changes during titration.
For prepaid plans, record both the advertised monthly equivalent and the actual amount charged at checkout. A plan described as “$74 per month” may require paying for a full year in advance.
The main GLP-1 pricing models
| Pricing model | What the headline price commonly covers | Costs that may be separate | Main question to ask |
| Care membership | Clinician access, messaging, coaching or insurance assistance | Medication, pharmacy charges and some labs | What is my total after the prescription is added? |
| Membership plus fixed-price medication | Clinical program plus a separate medication subscription | Diagnostics, some supplies or branded medication copays | Are both subscriptions canceled together? |
| Medication-inclusive bundle | Clinical review, medication and often shipping | Labs, higher doses or optional services | Does the price apply to every medication and dose? |
| Insurance-first program | Clinical support and prior-authorization assistance | Membership, deductible, copay and uncovered drugs | Is my specific drug on my plan’s formulary? |
| Manufacturer direct-pay route | FDA-approved medication at a cash-pay program price | Prescriber visit, membership and some injection supplies | Does the price rise by dose or after an introductory period? |
None of these are automatically better. A separate membership may be worthwhile when it includes meaningful clinical access or insurance assistance. A bundled program can be easier to budget, but only when the included formulation, pharmacy, dose and services are clearly identified.
Current provider examples: what the advertised price actually means
The following figures are illustrations, not personalized quotes.
| Provider | Advertised structure reviewed July 29, 2026 | Approximate ongoing total before labs or insurance changes | Important terms |
| Ro Body | $39 first-month membership; $149 month to month afterward, or an effective $74 a month with annual prepayment. Medication is separate. | Membership plus medication or insurance copay | Ro says medication is not included. Membership renews automatically; paid membership fees are nonrefundable, and cancellation must be submitted at least 48 hours before renewal. |
| Mochi Health | $39 promotional first month, then $79 monthly. The site advertises compounded semaglutide at $99 a month and compounded tirzepatide at $199 a month. | About $178 with advertised compounded semaglutide or $278 with advertised compounded tirzepatide | Medication and diagnostic services are separate from membership. Mochi says shipping is included in its advertised medication prices, but its terms allow medication fees and related charges to change. |
| MEDVi | Medication-inclusive GLP-1 injections advertised as starting at $179. | From $179, subject to the prescribed treatment and offer terms | MEDVi describes its program price as including medication where appropriate and online support. Cancellation must be received at least 72 hours before billing; the current monthly charge is generally nonrefundable. |
How to interpret this table
Ro and Mochi both advertise low first-month membership prices, but neither figure is the complete ongoing treatment cost.
For example, Mochi’s advertised ongoing calculation is relatively straightforward: $79 for membership plus $99 for compounded semaglutide equals $178 per month. Compounded tirzepatide raises that advertised total to $278.
Ro’s total depends more heavily on which medication is prescribed and whether insurance covers it. Its membership provides access to treatment, provider support, coaching, insurance assistance and clinically indicated testing, but the prescription itself is billed separately.
MEDVi illustrates the bundled model, where the medication is represented as part of the program price. The tradeoff is that “starting at” still requires clarification: consumers should confirm which formulation, medication and dose correspond to the advertised rate.
Introductory price versus regular price
Introductory offers are not necessarily problematic, but they should never be treated as the expected long-term GLP-1 price.
At the time of review:
- Ro advertised a $39 first month, followed by $149 on a monthly plan. Its lower $74 monthly figure requires annual prepayment.
- Mochi advertised $39 for new subscribers, followed by $79 a month; the promotion was not available in every state.
- NovoCare advertised Wegovy injection at $199 for each of the first two qualifying monthly fills at the two lower starting doses, followed by $349 per month for standard injection doses. Eligibility restrictions apply, and the manufacturer reserves the right to change or end the offer.
A more useful comparison would therefore show something like this:
| Cost point | What to record |
| Due today | Membership, consultation, medication and any prepayment |
| Second month | Whether the same promotional price continues |
| Third or fourth month | Regular membership and medication price |
| Maintenance dose | Price after dose escalation |
| Cancellation month | Final charge, notice deadline and refund eligibility |
Consumers should also check whether a multi-month discount is a true month-to-month rate or simply a lower average after paying several hundred dollars upfront.
Medication-inclusive and medication-exclusive plans
A medication-exclusive membership is not necessarily poor value. It may include:
- Clinician review and prescription management.
- Follow-up messaging or video visits.
- Insurance verification and prior-authorization support.
- Dose adjustment.
- Lifestyle coaching or dietitian access.
- Laboratory review.
The problem arises when a care-only fee is presented so prominently that a reader reasonably mistakes it for the cost of treatment.
Ro explicitly states that its membership does not include the medication. Mochi similarly states that its membership excludes both medication and diagnostic services.
Medication-inclusive plans are easier to compare only when the provider answers four additional questions:
- Is the medication FDA-approved or compounded?
- Is every dose covered by the same price?
- Are consultations and follow-up care included?
- Are shipping, injection supplies and labs included?
A bundled price without those details may still conceal meaningful differences.
Insurance versus cash payment
Insurance can produce the lowest medication cost, but coverage is not the same as affordability.
A drug may be covered while still being subject to:
- A prescription deductible.
- Coinsurance rather than a fixed copay.
- Prior authorization.
- Step-therapy requirements.
- A restricted pharmacy network.
- Reauthorization after several months.
- Coverage only for an FDA-approved indication.
The telehealth membership commonly remains a separate cash expense. Ro says insurance does not cover its membership, while Mochi’s terms state that its monthly subscription is not covered by most health plans or benefit arrangements.
Eligible commercially insured patients may qualify for manufacturer savings programs, but these programs have coverage requirements, financial caps and exclusions. For example, Lilly states that some commercially insured patients with Zepbound coverage may pay as little as $25, but governmental beneficiaries are excluded from that offer and full terms apply.
A current Medicare exception
Beginning July 1, 2026, eligible Medicare Part D beneficiaries may obtain certain weight-management GLP-1 medications for $50 per month through the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge. Not every Medicare beneficiary qualifies, and the initiative is currently scheduled through December 31, 2027.
Because this is a new and time-limited program, its eligibility rules and participating products should be checked immediately before publication and before a reader relies on it.
Questions for an insurer
Instead of asking only whether “GLP-1s are covered,” ask:
- Is the exact medication covered for weight management?
- Is prior authorization required?
- What clinical documentation is needed?
- What is the cost before and after the prescription deductible?
- Is the charge a copay or a percentage of the drug price?
- Must the prescription use a specific pharmacy?
- How long does the authorization remain valid?
- Will a telehealth prescriber be accepted?
- Are manufacturer savings applied before or after the deductible?
Cash prices can change by medication and dose
Manufacturer direct-pay programs have reduced the cash cost of some FDA-approved medications, but their prices are not always flat.
NovoCare’s current Wegovy injection offer illustrates introductory pricing: qualifying new patients pay $199 for each of the first two lower-dose monthly fills, followed by $349 for standard doses.
LillyDirect’s Zepbound pricing illustrates dose-related pricing:
| Zepbound dose | Advertised self-pay price reviewed July 29, 2026 |
| 2.5 mg starting dose | From $299 per 28-day supply |
| 5 mg | From $399 |
| 7.5–15 mg | From $449 when eligible refills are purchased within 45 days |
If the higher doses are not refilled within the required window, Lilly lists higher regular prices for some strengths. The vial presentation also requires the purchase of needles and syringes, although delivery is advertised as free.
This is why “How much does a GLP-1 cost?” does not always have one answer. A starting dose, maintenance dose and missed refill window may produce three different prices.
Lab and consultation fees
Laboratory testing is not universally required for every person or every medication, but a clinician may order tests based on medical history, symptoms, other medications or monitoring needs.
Program terms vary considerably:
- Ro states that clinically necessary lab testing is included in its membership description, while its terms allow additional charges for certain extra tests or services.
- Mochi states that diagnostic services are not included in the membership and describes establishing a health baseline and planning labs or scans when appropriate.
- MEDVi’s refund policy says a bundled subscription may include lab or other healthcare services for which it collects payment, but this wording does not establish that every test is included in every plan.
Before paying, obtain a written answer to:
- Whether initial labs are required.
- Which tests are included.
- Where testing must be completed.
- Whether insurance will be billed.
- The cash price if insurance declines.
- How often tests may be repeated.
- Whether a lab result from a primary-care clinician can be used.
A plan with a slightly higher monthly fee may be less expensive overall when necessary consultations and laboratory monitoring are included.
Shipping, supplies and cancellation can become hidden costs
The term “hidden fee” is sometimes too strong. Many costs are disclosed, but only in FAQs, checkout screens or terms that a consumer may not see when comparing landing pages.
Shipping and supplies
Mochi states that shipping is included in its medication prices. LillyDirect advertises free delivery for Zepbound vials but notes that needles and syringes must be purchased separately.
Consumers using a vial should confirm whether the following are included:
- Syringes and needles.
- Alcohol swabs.
- A sharps container or disposal instructions.
- Temperature-controlled packaging.
- Replacement procedures for a delayed or damaged shipment.
Automatic renewal
A GLP-1 membership and a medication subscription may renew separately. Canceling the clinic membership may not always stop a pharmacy order that has already entered fulfillment.
Ro requires cancellation at least 48 hours before membership renewal. MEDVi requests 72 hours’ notice. Mochi’s current terms allow cancellation through the account or by phone, but specifically state that emailing its general support address is not an accepted cancellation method.
Refunds
Prescription products generally cannot be returned for resale once dispensed or shipped. Ro and Mochi both state that prescription sales are final once the applicable fulfillment stage has been reached. MEDVi generally does not refund the current month after cancellation, although it describes refunds for medical disqualification and certain unused prepaid months.
A useful consumer practice is to save:
- The checkout price.
- The renewal date.
- The cancellation instructions.
- The medication-order cutoff.
- The confirmation number for any cancellation.
FDA-approved and compounded medications are not equivalent
| FDA-approved medication | Compounded preparation |
| Reviewed by FDA for safety, effectiveness, quality and approved labeling | Not reviewed or approved by FDA before marketing |
| Manufactured as a standardized approved product | Prepared by a compounding pharmacy or outsourcing facility under applicable legal conditions |
| May be eligible for insurance or manufacturer savings | Commonly cash-pay |
| Approved prescribing information identifies dosing, warnings and adverse effects | Concentration, container and administration instructions may vary |
| Not automatically appropriate for every patient | Should address a patient-specific medical need that cannot be met by an approved product |
FDA states plainly that compounded drugs are not FDA-approved and are not the same as approved generics. The agency says they should be used when a patient’s medical needs cannot be met by an FDA-approved drug.
The national shortages of semaglutide and tirzepatide injections have been declared resolved, and earlier shortage-based periods of enforcement discretion for routine copies have ended. Compounding may still be legally appropriate in qualifying patient-specific circumstances, but consumers should not assume that the broad availability seen during the shortages continues under the same rules.
FDA has also warned about fraudulent compounded GLP-1 products, including labels naming pharmacies that did not prepare the medication. It has received reports of dosing errors with compounded injections, some requiring hospitalization.
Before accepting a compounded prescription, ask:
- Why is a compounded preparation clinically necessary for me?
- What is the exact active ingredient and concentration?
- Which pharmacy will prepare it?
- Is the pharmacy licensed to dispense into my state?
- Will the pharmacy’s name appear on the prescription label?
- Is the dose written in milligrams as well as syringe units?
- Who should I contact if the concentration or instructions are unclear?
Claims that a compounded product is “FDA approved,” a “generic Wegovy” or a “generic Zepbound” are significant red flags.
How an online GLP-1 program typically works
A legitimate telehealth pathway commonly includes:
- Online intake: Medical history, current medications, allergies, previous weight-management treatment and relevant health conditions.
- Clinician review: A licensed professional evaluates whether telehealth treatment is appropriate and whether more information is required.
- Consultation: This may be synchronous video, telephone or an asynchronous exchange, depending on the provider, state and clinical circumstances.
- Eligibility decision: Submitting an intake form does not guarantee a prescription.
- Medication selection: The clinician considers approved indications, health history, contraindications, other medications, insurance and patient preferences.
- Pharmacy fulfillment: An electronic prescription is sent to a retail, mail-order or compounding pharmacy.
- Delivery or pickup: Shipping timing, refrigeration requirements and damaged-package procedures should be provided.
- Follow-up and titration: Dose changes depend on the prescribed product, tolerability and clinical response.
- Ongoing monitoring: The clinician may review side effects, weight trends, nutrition, medication interactions and relevant laboratory results.
NIDDK notes that healthcare professionals may consider weight-management medication for adults with a BMI of at least 30, or at least 27 with a weight-related health problem. These thresholds are general clinical criteria, not a promise that any individual will qualify.
Safety and eligibility affect the cost decision
Price matters only if a program provides appropriate evaluation and follow-up.
Semaglutide and tirzepatide commonly cause gastrointestinal effects such as nausea, diarrhea, vomiting, constipation and abdominal discomfort. Approved prescribing information also addresses less common but clinically serious concerns, including pancreatitis, gallbladder disease, dehydration-related kidney injury and serious hypersensitivity reactions.
Zepbound is contraindicated in people with a personal or family history of medullary thyroid carcinoma or multiple endocrine neoplasia syndrome type 2, as well as those with a known serious hypersensitivity to tirzepatide or its ingredients. Its labeling instructs patients to discontinue treatment when pregnancy is recognized. Individual medications have their own prescribing information, so these points should not be generalized without reviewing the specific drug.
A low-cost program may be a poor value when it provides no practical way to:
- Report side effects.
- Ask dosing questions.
- Delay dose escalation.
- Replace damaged medication.
- Coordinate with a primary-care clinician.
- Obtain urgent guidance when symptoms may require in-person care.
Persistent severe abdominal pain, significant dehydration, difficulty breathing, facial or throat swelling, fainting or other severe symptoms warrant prompt medical assessment rather than waiting for a routine portal reply. This section should receive medical review before publication.
Red flags when comparing GLP-1 prices
Be cautious when a service:
- Guarantees that a prescription will be issued.
- Does not require a meaningful medical-history review.
- Cannot identify who will review the intake.
- Does not disclose whether medication is FDA-approved or compounded.
- Calls a compounded medication FDA-approved or a generic form of a branded drug.
- Will not name the dispensing pharmacy before payment or fulfillment.
- Sells products labeled “research use only.”
- Advertises only the first-month price while obscuring the renewal rate.
- Does not disclose whether higher doses cost more.
- Uses syringe “units” without clearly explaining the milligram dose and concentration.
- Has no documented process for side effects or follow-up.
- Makes cancellation dependent on an unclear or unavailable procedure.
- Continues a recurring charge even when no medication is prescribed without clearly disclosing the membership’s remaining services.
A legitimate provider should also make it clear that the telehealth company, medical practice and dispensing pharmacy may be separate legal entities.
Which pricing model may be a better fit?
A membership plus insured medication may appeal to people who:
- Have confirmed formulary coverage.
- Need prior-authorization support.
- Value ongoing clinician messaging or coaching.
- Are comfortable paying a separate membership fee.
It may not suit someone whose plan excludes weight-management medication and who does not want a substantial cash drug cost on top of the membership.
A bundled cash-pay program may appeal to people who:
- Want a more predictable recurring total.
- Do not have useful insurance coverage.
- Prefer one combined payment.
It may not suit someone who wants to select a local pharmacy, use a particular branded drug or submit medication costs through insurance.
Manufacturer direct-pay medication may appeal to people who:
- Prefer an FDA-approved product.
- Can obtain prescribing and follow-up care elsewhere.
- Meet the program’s eligibility and refill requirements.
The medication price should still be added to any clinic, prescriber, lab or supply costs.
A compounded option may be worth discussing when:
A licensed prescriber identifies a specific patient need that an FDA-approved product cannot meet and the preparation is supplied by an appropriately licensed pharmacy. A lower price alone does not make a compounded drug equivalent to an approved product.
Questions to ask before enrolling
- Is the advertised price introductory or ongoing?
- How much will be charged today?
- Does the price require a multi-month or annual prepayment?
- Is medication included?
- Which medication and formulation does the price cover?
- Is it FDA-approved or compounded?
- Will the price increase with the dose?
- Which pharmacy fills the prescription?
- Are shipping, needles and syringes included?
- Are initial or follow-up labs required?
- What clinical follow-up is included?
- How can I reach a clinician about side effects?
- Does the program bill insurance for the medication, the membership or both?
- What happens if prior authorization is denied?
- What happens if I am not medically eligible?
- When do the membership and medication renew?
- Must they be canceled separately?
- What is the cancellation deadline?
- At what point does a medication order become nonrefundable?
- Can I transfer the prescription to another pharmacy or clinician?
The bottom line
The lowest visible GLP-1 price is rarely enough information to choose a program.
A useful comparison should identify the regular membership fee, medication cost at the likely maintenance dose, insurance obligations, laboratory charges, supplies, shipping and cancellation exposure. It should also explain exactly what clinical support remains available after the prescription is written.
For some consumers, an insurance-focused membership may produce the lowest total. Others may prefer a bundled cash-pay program or an FDA-approved medication obtained through a manufacturer direct-pay channel. A compounded preparation belongs in a separate category and requires a clear discussion of clinical need, pharmacy sourcing and the fact that it is not FDA-approved.
Before enrolling, request the expected total in writing and compare the cost over at least three months—not only the amount shown on the first checkout screen.
